Creating My First Website: Chapter 2

Creating My First Website: Chapter 2

Third post alert! I made it to my third post, though the gap was huge between my introductory and 1st chapter and now between the first and second chapter, but continuity is what I’m focusing at this point (you see I’ve never chased even a single idea till its end my entire life, I pick up projects, get bored and leave things in the middle. Some of you might even relate to this). We discussed web browser, URL, Protocols, IP address and DNS.

Can we already move to website designing already? I’m bored. Ummm.. A good idea would be to come up with a list of problems we can face while designing a website so that we can avoid making these mistakes while designing as we don’t know what we’re getting into.

Also, let me introduce you to responsive web designing which I’ve decided we should do. We are born in that age of technology where we have multiple multimedia devices, I, myself own an iPad, an iPhone and a windows laptop. You might be browsing this blog from a phone, the person next to you might be using a laptop for the same. So how we make sure the content gets formatted seamlessly as per the device? Yes! We use responsive web designing (Finally I feel like we’re making a bit progress here *virtual high-five*).

Let’s start with what we’ll have on the website and then we might be able to figure out the issues. We’ll have:

  1. What content do we want on the website?
  2. How do we plan to organise the contents?
  3. What theme/background should we have for our pages
  4. Layout of the page (I’m a huge fan of non-clustered and easy on eyes content)

Let’s discuss all these issues one by one and if you can think of any other issues we may come across please feel free to comment and I’ll add them here. Issue #1 can be addressed easily if we know why do we want this website like you want this website to be your travelogue where you want to share all your experiences so you would want a no fuss menu where most of the content is available at the home page (yes! I know you call them a blog but I see all these as variations of a website with different layout as per the requirement). For me, I want a website so that I can share stupid tutorials (like this one) or lifestyle related articles and many other thinks (I’m a person with many interests.. lol!). So for me, my website needs to be categorized properly under different sections so that it’s easy for a viewer to navigate across which would also solve our issue #2. For #3, it totally depends on you, what kind of theme/color/schema you want. For example, a lifestyle related content it would be appropriate to have a fuchsia theme just make sure the content is readable (which should be our priority). For #4, where do you want to keep the content, how much content do you want to fit in one page, such kind of issues needs to be addressed.

We should also keep in mind that the browser should support whichever website we build and however we build it. There are certain other things which impact the compatibility/design of a website and they are but not limited to: Bandwidth (connection speed. Okay..! So imagine this, user searches for something using a search engine and your page comes up in the search result, but you have added so many images in your website that it takes quite a bit time to load and since the user is people like us he would most certainly move on to some other website until and unless you’re Facebook!) , cache (You might remember clearing your cache memory from the browser, this is the temporary memory browsers use to store the graphics which gets downloaded when you visit any website for the first time, so next time when you visit the website only the content is displayed and the graphics are shown from the cache memory of your computer/phone. What if your website uses cache memory and the user’s machine cache memory is full? Nooooooooo), display resolution (not everyone’s device is of the same resolution, so wouldn’t we have issues when we’ll design a website for let’s say a higher resolution and there’s a user trying to open our page in lower resolution? Shouldn’t we design our website in such a way that it adapts to the screen resolution itself? Well.. At least most of the times if not always..). These might be some of the issues if not all.

Let’s plan our website then. So we’ve already established that we need to know why we want this website that’ll help us with the content, what content we should have on our website. Also we do want to know our audience like are you making this website for cool people like me or is it for ACTUAL people out there because it would be inappropriate to fill your entire website with pictures of food(I’m not making any sense at all and I’m very much aware of this). Anyway, you’d also like to organise your content in a way that it’s easily readable (which this blog isn’t clearly).

P.S: How’s the training on Python going on? I recently completed 12% of it and it was awesome. If you’re taking the same course, let me know how’s it going for you. Now, go get a life you adorable geek. Go.. Shu..

 

Leave a Reply

